Sex for Grade: Kaduna versity dismisses lecturer

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic, Prof. Abdullahi Ashafa has announced the termination of the appointment of Dr. Idowu Abbas over alleged sexual harassment at the Kaduna State University.

The lecturer fired, Dr. Idowu Abbas, was of the Department of Geography of the institution.

See Also: Schools still resume January 18, 2021 – FG

The DVC said the university’s Senior Staff Disciplinary Committee, chaired by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration) investigated the alleged sexual harassment against the lecturer before relieving him of his job as he was found guilty of the allegations.

The report of the disciplinary committee was presented at the Management Meeting of the school on January 12 where Dr. Ashafa served as Chairman on behalf of the Vice Chancellor of the institution, Prof. Muhammad Tanko.

“According to the report, Abbas confessed in his testimony to have touched and hugged a female student he was supervising her project from behind against her will when she went to his office to discuss her project. His testimonies also revealed other nasty and randy misbehaviour he exhibited to the student”, Asafa said.

“This gross misconduct violated Section 8.7 Paragraph (f) of the Administrative and Academic Regulations in Kaduna State University”.

“The regulations state that ‘victimization/harassment of student through examination mark is punishable by dismissal and/or termination of appointment”, he concluded.

In another development, The Kaduna State University on Friday, promoted no fewer than 12 lecturers to the rank of Professor while eight others to an Associate Professor’s rank.

The lecturers promoted to the rank of Professors are Dr. Helen Andow, Professor of Entrepreneurship Management; Dr Upah Butari, Professor of English Language; and Dr Suleiman Suleiman, Professor of Arabic Grammar.

Others promoted are Dr Muhammad Bello, Professor of Accounting and Finance; Dr Sadiq Abdu, Professor of Solid State and Computational Physics; and Dr Dickson Dyaji, Professor of Religious Studies.

They also include Dr Audee Giwa, Professor of Comparative Literature; Dr Usman Yusuf, Professor of Economics; Dr Zainab Dabo, Professor of Finance and Management; and Dr Benjamin Gugon, Professor of Accounting.

Others promoted to the rank of professor include Dr Zakari Ladan, Professor of Organic Chemistry; and Dr Muhammad Sani Abubakar, Professor of Molecular Physics and Renewable Energy.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button